

Redistribution of Legislative Council Electoral Boundaries

Legislative Council Electoral Boundaries Act 1995 – Sections 29J and 29K Notice

Transition Determination

PART 1—PRELIMINARY

Commencement

1 This determination takes effect on the date of its publication in the Gazette.

Interpretation

2 In this determination, unless the contrary intention appears—

"allocated Member" means a Member of the Council who is allocated to a Council division under this determination;

"Council" means the Legislative Council of the Parliament of Tasmania;

"Council division" means an electoral division as provided in the Determination of Boundaries and Names published on 20 May 2017 in accordance with section 25 of the *Legislative Council Electoral Boundaries Act 1995*;

"Member" means a Member of the Council.

PART 2—REPRESENTATION OF NEW LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL DIVISIONS

Allocation of Members to Legislative Council divisions

3 (1) With effect from the date of publication in the Gazette the following Members of the Council are allocated to Council divisions in accordance with the following table—

Allocated member (term expires)	Council division (in alphabetical order)
Hon CM Farrell (2021)	Derwent
Hon JB Willie (2022)	Elwick
Hon RHF Valentine (2018)	Hobart
Hon RH Armstrong (2020)	Huon
Hon RL Armitage (2023)	Launceston
Hon GR Hall (2018)	McIntyre
Hon TV Rattray (2022)	McIntyre
Hon MV Gaffney (2021)	Mersey
Hon LA Hiscutt (2019)	Montgomery
Hon RJ Forrest (2023)	Murchison
Hon JS Wilkinson (2019)	Nelson
Dr Hon V Goodwin (2019)	Pembroke
Hon K Finch (2020)	Rosevears
Hon SE Lovell (2023)	Rumney
Hon IN Dean (2021)	Windermere

Note: This determination allocates both Mr Hall and Ms Rattray to the division of McIntyre and no member to the division of Prosser. A member for Prosser will be elected at the 2018 periodic elections, which coincides with the expiry of Mr Hall's current term.

(2) A Member of the Council allocated to a particular Council division under subclause (1) is taken to have been elected for, and is to represent, the relevant Council division.

PART 3—CYCLE OF PERIODICAL ELECTIONS

Periodical elections

4 A periodical election is to be held for a Council division in the year of the first periodical election specified in the following table and thereafter in each sixth year after the last periodical election for that Council division—

Council division	Year of first periodical election
Hobart	2018
Prosser	2018
Montgomery	2019
Nelson	2019
Pembroke	2019
Huon	2020
Rosevears	2020
Derwent	2021
Mersey	2021
Windermere	2021
McIntyre	2022
Elwick	2022
Launceston	2023
Murchison	2023
Rumney	2023

STATEMENT OF REASONS

The reasons for the above determination are as set out in the Redistribution Tribunal's Initial Transition Proposal published on 8 July 2017.

During the consultation period following the publication of the Initial Transition Proposal, the Tribunal received submissions from the Honourable Tanya Rattray and the Honourable Sarah Lovell. The Tribunal noted that both members stated their intention to continue to provide support for electors from their former divisions who will transfer to the division of Prosser, until such time as an election is held in that division in 2018. The Tribunal supported this position.

Publication of this determination concludes the 2016-17 redistribution of Legislative Council electoral boundaries. The next redistribution will commence in accordance with Section 10 of the *Legislative Council Electoral Boundaries Act 1995*.

Mike Blake – Chairperson of the Redistribution Tribunal 5 August 2017